Bumpdate: Week 36

Weight: 5.78 pounds
Length: 18.66 inches
Papaya

This week was our two year wedding anniversary, and we wanted to go away to celebrate (last year we went to Cheltenham) but knowing that I was going to be 8 months pregnant, we didn’t want to commit to an expensive hotel that we wouldn’t be able to enjoy if the travelling turned out to be too difficult for me. Instead, we decided to spend the weekend at a caravan park in the Lake District which was a low cost, low pressure option in a beautiful location.

The journey turned out to be ok; we took loads of breaks on the drive up and didn’t end up arriving until about 11pm, but I stayed awake for the whole trip and wasn’t too uncomfortable.

It was lucky we had the place to ourselves because I woke up early on Saturday morning generally uncomfortable; I couldn’t work out if I was hungry or thirsty, so I had an apple and some water and then instantly wanted to be sick. The pain got slowly worse until it was a sharp pain lasting no more than a minute or two and coming and going really often. I could not do anything to alleviate the sharp pain, although changing position and walking circles around the living room did help with some of the discomfort. I had really started to think that it could be proper contractions at only 36 weeks, in the middle of nowhere!

In the end, I decided to have a shower, which helped enormously, although I was still getting some pain on and off the worst of it completely dissipated in the warm water. After about 3 hours, although I was feeling a bit better, we called the midwife office (in Leicestershire) and she thought it was probably not contractions as I could hold a conversation with her but arranged for an appointment with the local drop in centre so that I could be checked over.

By the time we made it to the appointment, I was not in any more acute pain and just had a little discomfort that was no worse than the Braxton Hicks contractions I have been experiencing earlier this week, so there was nothing for the doctor to do and he sent us on our way again.

I was so glad that we had packed both mine and Pip’s hospital bags in the car with my maternity notes, just in case, because I felt quite prepared. While the whole situation wasn’t perfect, having a Cumbrian baby wasn’t too scary a concept for me and I definitely feel ready for him to arrive as soon as he’s ready!

After our trip was over, we had a scheduled midwife appointment for week 36 where my bump was measuring quite small, but still within the “normal” category so we were told it was nothing to worry about. Also, the midwife wasn’t completely sure if he was still engaged, but ultimately decided that he probably was still 1/5 engaged just the same as last time. I was really hoping that we would have progressed a little, but there is plenty of time for that yet as I still have one more week left at work!

Leave a Reply

