Bumpdate: Week 9

Weight: 0.07 ounces
Length: 0.9 inches
Grape

This has been a great week; definitely feeling all the symptoms, which I both love and loathe in equal measure!

We have been really excited about our first midwife appointment and I feel like I have been counting down forever, but first we had a weekend away scheduled for Pip’s first trip to the Lake District! I was so sick on the drive there, which took 7 hours all in all, but I have learned that dry crackers are my friend and I think I’ll be eating quite a few in the next few weeks. It’s amazing to think about what an impact something so small can have on every action I take.
I had no idea what to expect when we turned up at the Community Hospital on Monday morning. I had been told to bring a sample pot that I had collected from the Medical Centre last week, and I was so careful packing it into my handbag the morning of the appointment – luckily our appointment was at 10am so I didn’t have to carry it for very long.

Chris came with me to the appointment, but he didn’t have much to do, most of the appointment was spent answering questions about family medical histories and whether we were related to each other. It was very much a paperwork exercise.

I did have an opportunity to tell her about the amount of spotting I had experienced a few weeks ago and made sure to explain how worried I had been about the whole situation and she was so much more helpful than the doctor had been. The very next thing she did was call the hospital and book an appointment for us with the Early Pregnancy Unit to get an early scan to make sure everything was ok.

The scan took place 3 days later and went really well!!! Everyone at Leicester Royal Infirmary was lovely to us and although we were incredibly nervous, we got to see our little Pip on the ultrasound (and didn’t need an internal scan) and saw a tiny heart fluttering away!

It was such a relief to see a tiny little gummy bear exactly as big as they expected him to be, with a heart beating away on the screen, instantly we knew that everything was currently going well and they even let us keep the photo.

Despite not having had any spotting for a few weeks now, I have been quietly worried that I had lost so much blood over the two weeks that it must have been indicative of a problem that we didn’t know about. We go on holiday next week (and intend to tell my mum and dad before we fly) so now we can tell them AND show them!

Symptoms include
Nausea, a little less tired, thirst, sore breasts
Leave a Reply

